My Other More Exciting Self

Farm Raised, Shoe Enthusiast, Turkey Talker, Wine Lover, Mom

I’m exhausted and it’s Sunday night, but I really want to write a blog post. I can’t stand that I’ve had to set aside my blog for this long! So much for my goal of posting once a week. That flew out the window in February, which is typically one of my busiest months of the year. And I will tell you, February certainly did not end up how I thought it would.

I’m not going to dwell on that tonight, though. Instead I’m going to show you some photos from the nine-year-old’s First Communion at Zion Lutheran Church today, which was a big success. (Thanks to two of Joe’s godparents – my brother and sister-in-law – along with my niece and nephew for  joining us for this special occasion!)

This is also a good excuse to share the BEST turkey lasagna recipe that I served for lunch after church. Seriously – this is good stuff. I’ve come across a few turkey lasagna recipes in my day, but this is an outstanding recipe. And my mom – a former home economics teacher and gourmet cook in her own right – agrees with me. I might be 44 but I still know when I should listen to my mom.

The recipe comes courtesy of the Meschke family, turkey farmers in the Little Falls, MN area. You can find out more about their farm by “liking” Meschke Poultry on Facebook.

So there you have it … a short and sweet blog post on this Sunday evening. I feel better now. 🙂

Joe - looking handsome!

Joe – looking handsome!

Hanging with 2 of his cousins - love that big smile!

Hanging with 2 of his cousins – love that big smile!

A bookmark made by Grandma Marilyn and a 100+ year old New Testament Bible that belonged to Joe's great grandmother's family - pretty special!

A bookmark made by Grandma Marilyn and a 100+ year old New Testament Bible that belonged to Joe’s great grandmother’s family – pretty special!

Wouldn't be a family photo without Earl the Pug!

Wouldn’t be a family photo without Earl the Pug!

Cheesy turkey deliciousness!

Cheesy turkey deliciousness!

Marie Meschke’s Turkey Lasagna

1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 Pound ground turkey
½ Cup onion, chopped
¼ Teaspoon garlic powder
1 Teaspoon salt
¼ Teaspoon pepper
1 Teaspoon oregano
1 Can (28-ounce) diced tomatoes,
reserve liquid
1 Can (8-ounce) tomato sauce
8 Lasagna noodles
8 Ounces Ricotta cheese
8 Ounces low-fat cottage cheese
12 Ounces Mozzarella cheese, shredded
½ Cup Parmesan cheese, grated
Nonstick vegetable cooking spray

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Spray 9” x 13” pan with nonstick cooking spray.

2. In olive oil, lightly brown ground turkey with onion and garlic powder until turkey is no longer pink.

3. Add salt, pepper, oregano, tomatoes and liquid, tomato sauce and 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese. Simmer for 15 minutes.

4. Assemble lasagna: begin with a layer of 1/3 meat sauce, top with 4 uncooked lasagna noodles (break to fit), half of the Ricotta cheese, half of the cottage cheese, half of  the Mozzarella cheese and 2 tablespoons Parmesan  cheese. Repeat, ending with meat sauce and top with remaining Parmesan cheese.

5. Bake for 45 minutes.

Servings: 8

Nutrition Information Per Serving: Calories 400; Total Fat 22g; Sat. Fat 11; Trans Fat 0g; Cholesterol 95mg; Sodium 1,090mg; Total Carbohydrate 20g; Protein 31g

Note: You can also view the recipe here.

7 thoughts on “Best Turkey Lasagna. Seriously.

  1. Beautiful photos and congratulations to Joe! What a nice tribute to my mother-in-law as well. She is my cooking idol hands down! She showed me how to cook a turkey when we first moved to the farm 🙂 Wonderful memories your article brought to me! Loved it!

    Like

    1. MNGobbleGal says:

      Thanks Lynn! I can imagine what a wonderful hostess and cook your mother-in-law is! But the same could be said for you, too! 🙂 Thanks to you and Marie for sharing some wonderful recipes through the years.

      Like

Leave a comment

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

"The HERD" Online

Buffalo High School Marching Band and Drumline

Thimbleberries | Home Page

#Thimbleberriesnow

Agricultural with Dr. Lindsay

Hear the stories, understand the practices, and engage with the people who grow and raise your food!

My Other More Exciting Self

Farm Raised | Shoe Enthusiast | Baking Queen | Mom

LC Hanby Hudgens, writer

formerly Charming Farming

Midwest Barbie Blog

A midwestern girl trying to keep up in a barbie world. Becoming her own kind of beautiful on the prarie.

Illinois Farm Girl

Farm Raised, Shoe Enthusiast, Turkey Talker, Wine Lover, Mom